希伯伦,⼀个位于被以⾊列占领的⻄岸地区的分裂的城市,⼀直以来都是暴⼒的爆发之地。 数⼗万的巴勒斯坦⼈以及来⾃于以⾊列军⽅和巴勒斯坦当局双⽅的安全部队居住在这⾥,围 绕着⼀群居住在⽼城区附近的强硬的,受到严密保护的以⾊列定居者。这个城市⼤约每100 ⽶,包括房屋的屋顶上,都安装了监控摄像机。

在整个⻄岸地区,以⾊列军⽅通过将⾯部识别技术集成到不断扩张的摄像头和智能⼿机⽹络 中,对巴勒斯坦⼈进⾏了⼴泛的监视⼯作。这项在过去两年推出的监控计划涉及到被称为 “蓝狼”(Blue Wolf) 的智能⼿机技术。这项技术使以⾊列军⽅能够捕捉巴勒斯坦⼈的⾯部照 ⽚,并将其与⼀个庞⼤的图像数据库进⾏匹配,以⾄于⼀名前⼠兵将其描述为以⾊列国防军 的秘密“巴勒斯坦⼈脸书”。然后,这与⼠兵⼿机上的⼀个应⽤程序相关联。该应⽤程序会显 示不同的颜⾊,红⾊、⻩⾊和绿⾊,以提醒他们⼀个⼈是要被逮捕、被拘留还是不被打扰。

除了蓝狼,以⾊列军⽅还在希伯伦安装了⾯部扫描摄像头,以帮助检查站的⼠兵在巴勒斯坦 ⼈出示身份证之前就识别出他们。⼀个更⼴泛的,被称为“希伯伦智能城市”的闭路电视摄像 机⽹络,提供对该城市⼈⼝的实时监控。⽽且如⼀位前⼠兵所说,这个⽹络有时可以监视到 私⼈住宅。

“这些摄像头只有⼀只眼睛——⽤来监视巴勒斯坦⼈,”活动家兼 Artists + Allies x Hebron 成 员 Issa Amro 说。 “从你离开家的那⼀刻到你回家的那⼀刻,你⼀直在镜头前。”

另外⼀个名为 “⽩狼 ”(White Wolf) 的智能⼿机应⽤程序被开发出来,以供⻄岸地区的犹 太定居者使⽤。虽然定居者不允许拘留⼈,但是“安全志愿者”可以在⼀个巴勒斯坦⼈进⼊定 居点(⽐如,从事建筑⼯作)之前使⽤⽩狼应⽤程序扫描这个⼈的身份证。

在以⾊列军队⽹站上,军⽅在⼀篇2020 年的⽂章中提到了“希伯伦智慧城市”。该⽂章展示 了⼀群被称为“侦察兵”的⼥性⼠兵戴着虚拟现实眼镜站在电脑显示器前,并将该计划描述为 维护⻄岸地区安全的“重⼤⾥程碑”和“突破性”技术。⽂章称,“整个城市都安装了⼀个新的摄 像头和雷达系统”,该系统被⽤来记录“周围发⽣的⼀切”以及“识别任何运动或不熟悉的噪⾳”。

与边境检查不同,对于希伯伦的监控是在⼀个巴勒斯坦城市⾥进⾏的,⽽当地⺠众并未被告 知。这项技术是压迫和屈服⻄岸地区巴勒斯坦⼈⺠的另⼀种⼯具。“打破沉默”(Break the Silence),⼀个以⾊列退伍军⼈组织的执⾏董事 Avner Gvaryahu 说:“虽然监视和隐私处 于全球公共话语的最前沿,但我们在这⾥看到以⾊列政府和军⽅的另⼀个可耻假设,即在涉 及巴勒斯坦⼈时,基本⼈权根本⽆关紧要。”

具有讽刺意味的是,在H2 地区——希伯伦市被以⾊列军事控制的地区——每个巴勒斯坦⼈ 都被持续监视着,但却被国际社会忽略。与勇敢的巴勒斯坦居⺠的对话表明,当前最重要的 任务是与这些⼈团结⼀致,⽽且他们的持续存在本身就是⼀种抵抗⾏为。

如果没有他们的坚持,H2 地区早就会成为⼀个只有犹太⼈定居的区域。通过不顾⼀切地继 续住在⾃⼰的房⼦⾥,通过保留曾经繁荣的旧市场⾥仅剩的⼏家商店,通过照料橄榄树,他 们给⼤家以希望,有⼀天这⽚⼟地终将被归还给当地的主⼈.

这是我们在 H2地区放置的直播摄像机的录像视频。所有这些都展示了该市各种橄榄树的景 ⾊,其中⼤部分已有 900 多年的历史。这些橄榄树经常遭到以⾊列定居者的袭击,被定居 者们点燃。

我们项⽬中的摄像机通过采⽤相同的被武器化技术来直视这⽆休⽌的电⼦凝视,但是是作为 ⼀个社区建设的策略。我们希望警惕地关注这些珍贵的树⽊,并通过确保勇敢的当地居⺠及 其⽇常英雄主义⾏为不仅是被监视⽽是被⼴泛认可,来展示与巴勒斯坦居⺠的团结。

{"language":"\u666e\u901a\u8bdd","name":"\u540d\u79f0","earliest-memory":"\u4f60\u6700\u65e9\u7684\u8bb0\u5fc6\u662f\u4ec0\u4e48\uff1f","enter":"\u8fdb\u2f0a","about":"\u4fe1\u606f","hebron-h2":"\u5e0c\u4f2f\u4f26H2"}

The divided city of Hebron in the occupied West Bank has long been a flashpoint for violence, with an enclave of hard-line, heavily protected Israeli settlers near the Old City, surrounded by hundreds of thousands of Palestinians and security forces from both the Israeli military and the Palestinian administration. Surveillance cameras have been mounted about every 100 metres, including on the roofs of homes.

Across the West Bank, the Israeli military has undertaken a broad surveillance effort to monitor Palestinians by integrating facial recognition into a growing network of cameras and smartphones. This surveillance initiative, which has been rolled out over the past two years, involves in part smartphone technology called Blue Wolf. This allows the military to capture photographs of Palestinians’ faces and match them to an image database so extensive that one former soldier described it as the Israeli Defense Forces’ secret “Facebook for Palestinians”. This is then linked to an app on soldiers’ phones that flashes in different colours – red, yellow and green – to alert them whether a person is to be arrested, detained or left alone.

In addition to Blue Wolf, the Israeli military has installed face-scanning cameras in Hebron to help soldiers at checkpoints identify Palestinians even before they present their ID cards. A wider network of closed-circuit television cameras, dubbed “Hebron Smart City”, provides real-time monitoring of the city’s population and, as one former soldier said, is sometimes able see into private homes.

“The cameras only have one eye — to see Palestinians,” says Issa Amro, an activist and member of Artists + Allies x Hebron. “From the moment you leave your house to the moment you get home, you are on camera.”

A separate smartphone app, called White Wolf, has been developed for use by Jewish settlers in the West Bank. Although settlers are not allowed to detain people, “security volunteers” can use White Wolf to scan a Palestinian’s identification card before that person enters a settlement, for example, to work in construction.

The military mentioned “Hebron Smart City” in a 2020 article on the army’s website. It showed a group of female soldiers called “scouts” in front of computer monitors and wearing virtual-reality goggles, and described the initiative as a “major milestone” and a “breakthrough” technology for security in the West Bank. The article said, “a new system of cameras and radars had been installed throughout the city” that can document “everything that happens around it” and “recognize any movement or unfamiliar noise”.

Unlike the border checks, the monitoring in Hebron is happening in a Palestinian city without the local populace being notified. This technology is another instrument of oppression and subjugation of the Palestinian people in the West Bank. “While surveillance and privacy are at the forefront of the global public discourse, we see here another disgraceful assumption by the Israeli government and military that when it comes to Palestinians, basic human rights are simply irrelevant,” says Avner Gvaryahu, executive director of Breaking the Silence, an organization of Israeli military veterans.

The irony of the situation in H2 – the area of Hebron City under Israeli military control – is that for a place in which every Palestinian is continuously watched none feel seen by the international community. Conversations with courageous residents reveal that the most important current task is to act in solidarity with these people whose continued existence is itself an act of resistance.

Without their perseverance, H2 would have already become a Jewish-only area. By continuing to live in their houses, against all the odds, by keeping just a few shops of the once thriving old market open, by taking care of the olive trees, they give hope that one day this land will be returned to its local owners.

This is footage from livestream cameras that we have placed around H2. All are showing views of the city’s various olive groves, most of which are over 900 years old, all of which are constantly attacked by settlers who often set them alight.

The cameras in our project are returning the unending electronic gaze by co-opting the same weaponized technology but using it instead as a community-building strategy. We want to help keep a vigilant eye on these precious trees and to show solidarity by ensuring that the courageous residents and their daily acts of heroism are not only surveilled but also seen.

{"language":"English","name":"Name","earliest-memory":"What is your earliest memory?","enter":"Enter","about":"About","hebron-h2":"Hebron H2"}